Top Tracks · Tracks

Top Tracks: Sad13- “Get a Yes”


As laid out wonderfully in her 2015 interview with Pitchfork’s Jenn Pelly, an important facet of Sadie Dupuis’ work with Speedy Ortiz is agency. Its not just about having power or control, but about having that power and control respected. Which is perhaps easier to do when those requests are delivered with crunching guitars and leaden drums behind them.

For Dupuis’ solo debut as Sad13 (her personal Twitter handle) the punk furor is gone, but the emphases on agency and “affirmative consent” remain. Now Dupuis is plainly stating “I say yes to the dress when I put it on, I say yes if I want you to take it off, I say yes for your touch when I need your touch, I say yes if I want to.” Delivered over candy store synthesizers and NES-era drum beats, its Dupuis’ way of “normalizing” consent and making it sound sexy. What might’ve been a sneer on past Speedy Ortiz tracks is a relaxed sigh here. The necessary dialogue beforehand isn’t just satisfying in the moment, but long afterward as well.

Slugger drops Nov. 11 on Carpark. The tracklist can be found below:

1. Less Than 2
2. The Sting
3. Fixina
4. Get a Yes
5. Devil In U
6. Line Up
7. Just A Friend
8. Tell U What
9. Krampus (In Love)
10. Hype
11. Coming Into Powers ft. Sammus



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s